Ghana National Gospel Music Awards Fixed for February 20

Award Scheme to go down on the 20th of February

Ghana National Gospel Music Awards Fixed for February 20
Ghana National Gospel Music Awards

The annual Ghana National Gospel Music Awards is set to take place on Saturday, 20th February, 2021.

The award organisers announced that they have settled on said date and the event will be held at the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC).

Established by Global Expert Recovery to recognise outstanding practitioners within the genre in Ghana, the fourth edition of the award scheme had earlier released its list of nominees.

“Gospel Music is highly rated and as such, there is the need to appreciate our artists who spend fortunes to release albums or singles,” Global Expert Recovery CEO Peter Kwabena Dwobeng Sergio told Music in Africa. “So our goal is to reward excellence.”

Reigning GNGMAs Artist of the Year Celestine Donkor leads the pack of nominees with eight nominations. She is followed by MOG, Diana Hamilton and Nacee with seven apiece, while Akesse Brempong secured six nods.

Meanwhile, highlife artists Kuami Eugene and Fameye, as well as rapper Flowking Stone, among others, will compete in the Hybrid Song of the Year category.

Below is the full list of nominees:

Gospel Song of the Year

  • ‘Favour Everywhere’ by Celestine Donkor ft. Evelyn Wanjiru
  • ‘Adom’ by Diana Hamilton
  • ‘Nyame De Aba’ by Nacee
  • ‘Jesus Over Do’ by Empress Gifty
  • ‘Amazing God’ by MOG
  • ‘Blessed’ by Akesse Brempong ft. Joe Mettle

New Gospel Artist of the Year

  • Joshua Ahenkorah
  • Kofi Owusu Peprah
  • Esther Obiribea Addo
  • Ewuraba Eesi
  • Kelvin Sasu
  • Omari Kissi Jnr.
  • Akua Emelia

Praise Song of the Year

  • ‘Ayemuye Nyankopon’ by Nti Anane
  • ‘Yahweh’ by Jemda
  • ‘Nyamesom Pa’ by Margaret Addison
  • ‘One Day, One Day’ by Prophet David Kyeremeh
  • ‘Local Praise Medley’ by MOG
  • ‘Adom’ by Diana Hamilton
  • ‘Favour Everywhere’ by Celestine Donkor

Traditional Song of the Year

  • ‘Wode Yen Nfomso’ by CPL Adu Gyamfi
  • ‘Bo No Ose’ by Nacee
  • ‘Ayemuye Nyame’ by Antwi-Agyei ft. Kay-T
  • ‘Onyame Kese’ by Mavis Frempong
  • ‘Ayemuye Nyame’ by Nti Anane

Choral Group of the Year

  • One Voice Choir Ghana
  • Harmonious Chorale Ghana
  • Vocal Essence Chorale 

 Instrumentalist of the Year

  • Dan Grahl
  • Sax Borsah
  • Enock Owuraku Kissi
  • Richmond Danquah
  • Nsanku PeKay
  • Emmanuel Bludo 
  • Affreh Junior

Adventist Vibrant

  • P O Kwabena Donkor
  • Julia Asante – Mensah
  • Don Cemon
  • Bright Appiah Nkansah 

Radio/ TV Presenter of the Year

  • Franky5 – Hitz FM
  • Nii Noi – ATM
  • Tee Jay – Starz TV
  • Pastor Jerry – Nhyira FM
  • So Me So – Angel FM
  • Pastor Ato Acquah – Joy FM
  • Freda Bioh – J Life FM


Vote for Shatta Wale: Shatta Wale Nominated for “Best Fan Base Award” at the MTV Africa Music Awards 2021

Church Choir of the Year

  • CBC Inc, Kumasi
  • Fusion Kings Temple, Takoradi
  • Heralds Choir, Obuasi 
  • Calvary Music, Kumasi
  • Bethel Revival Choir, Accra
  • Covenant Voices RCI, Accra

Hybrid Song of the Year

  • ‘Long Life’ by Fameye ft. Kwesi Arthur 
  • ‘Waye Awie’ by Kuami Eugene ft. Obaapa Christie 
  • ‘Grace’ by Flowking Stone 
  • ‘Grace’ by Fii Cools 
  • ‘Nyame Beye’ by Nana Manuel

Music Producer of the Year

  •  Kaywa
  • Dan Bassey 
  • Nacee 
  • Francis Osei
  • Akesse Brempong/Rich Keyz
  • Shadrack Yawson (Shaa)
  • Vincent Nyafele (Vinny Kay)

Artist Manager of the Year

  • Nii Noi 
  • Jay Barnner
  • Kofi Donkor 
  • Cecil Quartey 
  • Kwesi Ernest 
  • King David 
  • Teddy OT 

International Artist of the Year

  • Hayden Billingy 
  • Detroit Youth Choir
  • Daryl Beebe 
  • Eric Reverance
  • Young Men 4 Christ 
  • Sounds of Imani
  • David Whitfield

African Artist of the Year

  • Judikay (Nigeria)
  • Mercy Chinwo (Nigeria)
  • Deborah Lukalu (DRC) 
  • Moses Bliss (Nigeria)
  • Armand Koffi (Ivory Coast)
  • Ephraim Son of Africa (Zambia)
  • Evelyn Wanjiru (Kenya)

Artist of the Year (Diaspora)

  • Music Mensah
  • Jane Rita
  • Alex Acheampong
  • Millicent Yankey
  • Martin Fei
  • Maame Pinamang
  • Herty Corgie
  • Joseph Mathew
  • Attah Patrick
  • Jenn Arthur

Gospel Artist of the Year

  • Akesse Brempong 
  • Nacee 
  • MOG 
  • Empress Gifty 
  • Diana Antwi Hamilton 
  • Celestine Donkor 

Music Video of the Year

  • ‘Blessed’ by Akesse Brempong
  • ‘Nyame De Aba’ by Nacee 
  • ‘Deedew’ by Carl Clottey
  • ‘Nyame Ye’ by Lizzy Ntiamoah 
  • ‘Adom’ by Diana Hamilton 
  • ‘Favour Everywhere’ by Celestine Donkor 
  • ‘Jesus Over Do’ by Empress Gifty 
  • ‘Fameye’ by Akua Emelia ft. Francis Amo

Songwriter of the Year

  • CBC Inc. 
  • Diana Hamilton
  • MOG
  • Eba
  • Omari Kissi Jnr. 
  • Celestine Donkor
  • Selina Boateng

Worship Song of the Year

  • ‘Tete Botan’ by Elizabeth Turkson
  • ‘Nyame Ye’ by Lizzy Ntiamoah
  • ‘You Reigh’ by Jeshrun Okyere ft. Joe Mettle
  • ‘Bless the Lord’ by Japhet Adjetey
  • ‘Kronkron’ by Eliabeth Boahene
  • ‘Di Wo Hene’ by Carl Clottey
  • ‘Ne Nianyam’ by Rama Antwi

Urban Gospel Artist of the Year

  • Carl Clottey 
  • Kobbysalm 
  • Kofi Karikari
  • Neqta 
  • 2Fresh4God 
  • MOG 
  • Eba

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Akesse Brempong
  • Nacee
  • Carl Clottey
  • Omari Kissi Jnr.
  • Onasis Kontor 
  • MOG
  • Eba

Gospel Male Artist of the Year

  •  Akesse Brempong
  • Nacee
  • MOG
  • Jeshrun Okyere
  • Carl Clottey

Gospel Female Artist of the Year

  • Jemda
  • Rose Adjei
  • Diana Hamilton
  • Jayana
  • Celestine Donkor
  • Empress Gifty

Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Lizzy Ntiamoah
  • Diana Hamilton
  • Jayana
  • Celestine Donkor
  • Nshira Tina
  • Empress Gifty
  • Abena Baduaa 

Collaboration of the Year

  • ‘Wonderful Jesus’ by Don Cemon ft. Obaapa Christy
  • ‘Blessed’ by Akesse Brempong ft. Joe Mettle
  • ‘Jejeli’ by Kobbusalm ft. Okey Socky
  • ‘God’ by MOG ft. Various Artists
  • ‘Favour Everywhere’ by Celestine Donkor ft. Evelyn Wanjiru
  • ‘Akpe Kataa’ by Chris Appau ft. Joe Mettle
  • ‘You Reign’ by Jeshrun Okyere ft. Joe Mettle