Election 2020: NDC contests Tarkwa-Nsuaem Parliamentary Results

The party said it has found some irregularities in the results declared by the EC

Election 2020: NDC contests Tarkwa-Nsuaem Parliamentary Results

The opposition NDC has filed a suit challenging the parliamentary results of the just-ended elections in the Tarkwa Nsuaem constituency.

The party’s constituency secretary, George Gadd, together with lawyers filed the suit at the Sekondi High Court on Tuesday, January 13,2020.

According to the opposition party, some serious violations of the electoral laws and many other irregularities have been discovered in the results declared by Electoral Commission (EC).

A statement from the constituency office said the decision to go to court follows an audit of the results and wide consultations with the national and regional executive committee of the party.

Among other things, the party wants the court to declare as null and void the declaration of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) candidate for the constituency, George Mireku Duker, as the elected Member of Parliament.

The NPP candidate, Mireku Duker, garnered 31, 946 votes against NDC’s John Justice Abban, who had 31,845 votes.

Kyei Mensa-Bonsu was not behind Carlos' ballot snatching act - Afenyo-Markin

Reliefs sought by the NDC

1. A declaration from the High Court to the effect that the purported declaration of the results of the 2020 Parliamentary Election on December 8, 2020, is void and of no effect whatsoever.

2. An order to the 2nd respondent (Electoral Commission) to comply with the Public Elections Regulation, 2020, (C.I 127) by re-collating all the results from all the 252 polling stations in the Tarkwa Nsuaem Constituency in the presence of the accredited agents of the NDC and the NPP Parliamentary Candidates and to reflect the true will of the voters there.

3. An order directed at the 2nd respondent to nullify votes cast at polling stations without verification as required by law.

4. And order directed at the 2nd respondent to re-run parliamentary elections at Community Center Boboobo 1A and 1B and the four other polling stations where the votes cast exceeded the total number of voters who voted at these polling stations.

Other constituencies the NDC is contesting include Hohoe, Asikado-Ketan, Sefwi-Wiawso and Zabzugu.