Akuapem North NPP In  Disarray ---As NDC Poises To Win Parliamentary Seat In 2024 General Elections

Akuapem North NPP In  Disarray ---As NDC Poises To Win Parliamentary  Seat In 2024 General Elections.

Akuapem North NPP In  Disarray ---As NDC Poises To Win Parliamentary Seat In 2024 General Elections
Information reaching Soireenews. com indicates that the Akuapem North Constituency branch of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Eastern Region is in serious trouble.
The NPP, which is the most dominant in the district, is on the verge of losing that dominance following the increasing affection for the National Democratic Congress (NDC).
This show of affection came to light when the Akuapem North Constituency executives staged the campaigns ahead of the 2024 general elections.
This was contained in the news item written by the leading member of the NDC from Akuapem North Constituency, Mr. Berima Owusu (OB) and copied to Soireenews.com.
Mr Owusu writes that; "The Akuapem North Constituency is one of the thirty-three constituencies in the Eastern Region. 
The constituency has been a safe place for the ruling NPP, who have won every Presidential and Parliamentary election since 1996.
The NPP Presidential candidate Prof. Adu Boahene polled 15,497 (51.96%) of the votes in the 1996 presidential elections with the NDC, Flt. Lt. J. J Rawlings (Fmr. President) coming second with 14,022 (47.62%).
 The closest the NDC has come to winning an election in the constituency. 
In the parliamentary race, Agyare Koi Larbi of the NPP won the seat by a margin of only 297 votes against his NDC competitor, Hon. Anthony Gyampo. 
The former had 14,590( (40.5%) and the latter polled 14,293 (39.7%).
The 2000 elections saw the NPP gaining more ground in the constituency. They obtained 16,749 (60.74%) votes in the presidential elections and 17,917 (67.57%) in the run-off to beat the NDC Prof. John Evans Atta-Mills who had 9,760 (35.5%) in the main presidential race and 8,600 (32.43%) in the run-off.  
Honourable Agyare Koi Larbi of the NPP retained his parliamentary seat in one of the tightest races the constituency has ever witnessed. 
His votes of 8,659 was almost only half of what his presidential candidate, John Agyekum Kufour polled and only 34 more than the NDC's Hon. Anthony Gyampo. 
Two independent candidates, Albert Gyan Boahene and Ronni Nana Esi Botsio had 5,713 and  4,394 votes respectively.
The NPP's dominance in the constituency continued in 2004 as they polled 23,161 (68.48%) to defeat the NDC's, John Evans Atta-Mills, who had 10,229 (30.24%) in the presidential election.
 Mr William Ofori Boafo took over the seat in parliament for the NPP with a vote tally of 21,655 as his competitors, Mr Richie Agyemfra Kumi of the NDC and Ronni Nana Esi Botsio of independent tallied only 9,887 and 1,382 respectively.
In the main presidential election of 2008, NPPs Nana Addo Danquah Akufo Addo had 22,472(65.24%) and 22,883(65.25%) in the run off whiles the NDCs John Evans Atta-Mills, had 11,331(32.9%) in the first round and 12,189(34.75%) in the run-off. 
It was yet another NPP win in parliament as Hon. Williams Ofori Boafo  polled 20,245 (58.94%) to beat a returning NDC candidate, Mr. Anthony Gyampo who became third time unlucky as his 10,524(30.64%) wasn't enough. An independent candidate, Augustus Osae Akonnor also had 2,320 (6.75%) votes.
The NPPs Nana Addo Danquah Akufo Addo obtained 29,032( 64.8%) votes in the 2012 presidential election and recorded their highest percentage of votes in the constituency in the 2016 presidential election with their 30,490 votes translating to 71.44%.
 In this same period, the NDC filled a new candidate in the person of John Dramani Mahama who had 15,389( 34.35%) votes in 2012 and saw a massive decline in 2016 as they could manage nearly 4,000 less votes with their 11,640 (27.27%).
Mr. William Ofori Boafo won the parliamentary seat for the third consecutive time in 2012 as he polled 26,828 (61.15%) to beat the NDC's Margaret Ansah who got 15,588 (35.53%). 
Nana Dokua Asiamah Adjei took over the baton as Member of Parliament for the Constituency on the ticket of the NPP in 2016 with 26,655(62.28%) votes as Independent candidate, Mr. Asiedu Offei polled an impressive 9,092(21.24%) to place second.
 The NDC's Yaw Appiah Kubi could manage only 6,949(16.24%) votes.
In the last presidential election in 2020, the NPP's 33,553( 70.27%) votes became their highest tally ever obtained in the constituency as the NDC followed with 13,851(29.01%).
 Nana Dokua Asiamah Adjei retained his seat in Parliament despite facing one of the fiercest rivalries in the parliamentary election. 
She polled 26,646(55.34%) to edge Justice Kotey Amasah of the NDC who had a vote tally of 10,505(21.81%) and Independent candidate, William Adjei Twumasi who also managed to get some 10,444(21.69%).
As another general election beckons in Ghana, can the NPP keep their stronghold constituency intact or the NDC can shake the foundation of a constituency where they don't have any favour from?